Home Blog Chatroom Forum News Gallery Poll FAQs Calendar LifeType Blog Links
Saturday, July 21, 2018
Select your language (選擇語言)
Login (登入)
Username:

Password:


Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu (主選單)
Did you know ?
All messages are logged in the chatroom?

Who's Online (誰在線上)
39 user(s) are online (13 user(s) are browsing CBB)

Members: 0
Guests: 39

more...
Search(搜尋)
Themes (版面風格)

(4 themes)

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





What hardware do you use?
Webmaster
Joined:
2006/1/16 17:41
From Taipei, 大羅天
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1767
Level : 35
HP : 0 / 856
MP : 589 / 31289
EXP : 24
Offline
I think I should start a topic first and then others can follow along.

Everybody is using a computer to get online. Mostly people are just aware of the operating system and browser they are using. They don't know too much or pay attention to their hardware being used.

Generally speaking, most people are using an Intel-based or X86 PC. Only a few are using other hardware platforms like Mac and others.

Can you name parts of the hardware you are using now? The list can be something like the following:

Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHZ CPU
1GB RAM
250 GB HDD
17" LCD

I have 6 computers at home now. Four of them are X86 systems and one is a Mac and the last is a Sparc system.

I'll list the Mac I am using now as a starter.

PowerMac G4

Dual 1.42 CPU
2GB RAM
80GB IDE HDD x 1
120GB IDE HDD x 1
250GB IDE HDD x 1
Apple Studio Display 17" LCD


Tim

Posted on: 2006/4/10 10:17
Create PDF from Post Print


Re: What hardware do you use?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/1/18 23:50
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 257
Level : 14
HP : 0 / 349
MP : 85 / 12784
EXP : 97
Offline
Dear tim,
Come on, how would I know the hardware that I use?
Now i am 一個頭兩個大.
Lynn

Posted on: 2006/4/10 13:24
Create PDF from Post Print


Re: What hardware do you use?
Webmaster
Joined:
2006/1/16 17:41
From Taipei, 大羅天
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1767
Level : 35
HP : 0 / 856
MP : 589 / 31289
EXP : 24
Offline
Lynn,

Why not make it a task for you to find out?

You can easily find info about the CPU and RAM size from Start -> Control Panel -> System.

For your hard drive size, you can get it from Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. Look for things like Disk 0 and the size shown there.

Tim

Posted on: 2006/4/10 16:33
Create PDF from Post Print


Re: What hardware do you use?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/1/18 23:50
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 257
Level : 14
HP : 0 / 349
MP : 85 / 12784
EXP : 97
Offline
haha,
Mine is Intel(R)
Pentium(R)4 CPU 2.60GHz
2.60GHz, 240MB RAM
Disk 0 size 37.26GB
In fact,i don't what the data mean.
Poor me.
Lynn

Posted on: 2006/4/10 19:24
Create PDF from Post Print


Re: What hardware do you use?
Webmaster
Joined:
2006/1/16 17:41
From Taipei, 大羅天
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1767
Level : 35
HP : 0 / 856
MP : 589 / 31289
EXP : 24
Offline
Which part you do not understand? CPU, RAM or hard drive size?

Maybe we can try to explain these things in this hardware forum later on.

Tim

Posted on: 2006/4/11 17:20
Create PDF from Post Print


Re: What hardware do you use?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/1/18 23:50
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 257
Level : 14
HP : 0 / 349
MP : 85 / 12784
EXP : 97
Offline
i don't know CPU and RAM. I guess hard drive size means how much i can save in the computer. Does RAM mean speed?
Lynn

Posted on: 2006/4/11 17:26
Create PDF from Post Print


Re: What hardware do you use?
Webmaster
Joined:
2006/1/16 17:41
From Taipei, 大羅天
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1767
Level : 35
HP : 0 / 856
MP : 589 / 31289
EXP : 24
Offline
Quote:

lynn wrote:
i don't know CPU and RAM. I guess hard drive size means how much i can save in the computer. Does RAM mean speed?
Lynn


CPU is like our human brain, the most important part of a computer system. Everything you do with your computer is processed by the CPU and the faster it is, the faster you can get with your computer. That means the faster you can see a program like IE, Word appear and respond.

RAM is a temporage storage for your programs. The CPU gets information from RAM and then process it. The larger your RAM is, the more programs you can run simultaneously.

As to the hard drive, it's where all your programs and files are stored physically. The CPU cannot use data on it directly. Everything has to be loaded from the hard drive (or similar storage media) to RAM before the CPU can use it.

Hope the above can clarify a bit for you and others.

Tim

Posted on: 2006/4/11 19:38
Create PDF from Post Print







Post Reply
AccountName   Password   Login
Message:


You cannot start a new topic.
You can view topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


FlashChat Users (聊天室用戶)
Contextual Q&A (相關內容問答)